My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The degrees of masonry

iainmason

THE DEGREES OF MASONRY

The Master Mason
by Joseph Fort Newton.
Published in Masonic Bulletin-BCY- November 1957

WHAT SEEKEST THOU?
Still further light in Masonry, even the Light that sees through the Shadow into the life of things. As an Apprentice I have been taught the morality that purifies youth, and as a fellowcraft the knowledge that glorifies manhood: learning the wisdom that lives upon the Level, by the Square, within the Compasses, in the spirit of Brotherly Love, the practise of Relief, in the quest of Truth. In humble awe and longing I seek a Lost Word which murmurs in my ears and trembles on my lips, but eludes my speech and escapes into Silence.

BY WHAT RIGHT OR BENEFIT?
By the right of a man to know the meaning of his life, so brief at its longest, so broken at its best; and by the benefit of a need too deep for tears. Life ends in death, and every ray of light is tipped with darkness. We are born, we struggle up into strength, we seek the truth, we train our hands to do good, and our quest and sorrow are met by death. The longest service, the most faithful labor, the highest dream ends in the grave, which divides Divinity with God, engulfing the loves of life and the fellowship of years.

KNEEL AT YON ALTAR.