My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A Warm Hello All the Way from Indonesia

Irsan

Greetings, Brothers-to-be.

My name is Irsan and I'm from Indonesia. I've been reading up on Masonry for over a year now and seriously plan to join. Alas, there are no Lodges in Indonesia as Freemasonry was once banned in the 1950s. Although the ban has been lifted at the turn of the century (around the year 2002, 2003), no Lodges have been formed or reformed yet. The closest Lodges to Jakarta, where I live, are in Singapore and Malaysia where the English, Scottish and Irish Constitution Lodges still flourish. Although it's only a few hours flight to either country, I'm a recent university graduate and still have some ways to go before being economically independent (to pay dues and airfares).

It's sad that Freemasonry died out and has been left "in the dark" for so long in Indonesia. During the Colonial Era, Dutch and British Lodges were plentiful here and included a good number of local Indonesians (including the celebrated 19th century painter, Raden Saleh). Sir Thomas Raffles, the founder of Singapore, initiated, raised and perfected three different Lodges on Java during the British occupation of the East Indies.

With such a rich historical ties, Freemasonry in Indonesia shouldn't simply fade away into obscurity. Which is one of the reasons why I want to study the Craft and become a Mason. (Other than taking part in world domination of course. Nudge nudge. Wink wink.)

Brother JC

Moderating Staff
Staff Member
Welcome to the forum. I wish you luck on your Journey, and perhaps the internet will help you find like-minded people in your area, as well as Freemasons who are a long way from a Lodge.

Irsan