My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finally jailbroke the Evo 4g

Michaelstedman81

Premium Member
Just curious, but what is the purpose of "jailbreaking" a phone? I have had the iPhone ever since the first one came out (except for being deployed) and have heard about people doing this to their phone a lot. What does it do for you exactly? Some of you guys have said that you now have "control" over your own phone now, but what do you get to do with it?...lol I am a pretty tech savvy guy, but I have stayed away from jailbreaking any of my phones cause of trying to do the "right" thing...lol But now I am really curious about it all.

After jailbreaking it, can you go back to the original settings of the phone? How do you do it? Does it cost money to get it done? Any other information would be much appreciated.

Brent Heilman

Premium Member
For the iPhone the original can be restored at anytime through iTunes. It doesn't cost anything to do and there are several out there. The restrictions can be which OS you are currently using which may not be compatible with the current OS. Two of the best to use are limera1n and green poison. It will only take a couple of minutes to do. For the iPhone it will allow you to add on third party software and you are no longer tied or restricted to the Apple App store. According to a federal ruling jailbreaking does not violate any laws. The only thing is that there are certain resources out there that are using cracked apps which does violate pirating laws. The resources the program installs are legit.