My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to choose the path after MM

JanneProeliator

Now I'm just an EA hoping to get my second and perhaps eaven my third degree by the end of the year but I have been pondering how to continue the journey as a mason after the third degree.
We have the most common orders and rites available the York rite, Scottish rite, order of mark master mason etc. I have no knowledge on how to choose one or what is the path that I'm taking if I choose to go one way or another.

How did you choose your journey of the extra degrees ?

Warrior1256

Site Benefactor
You wait till your raised, then once you feel you have MASTERED the degrees sufficiently then you choose which way you want to go
Agreed. I was advised to wait 6 months, or longer, after being raised to join an appendant body. Get to know what is expected in Blue Lodge before going elsewhere. What you would learn in the Scottish Rite or York Rite (can't speak for others) are extensions to the knowledge you gain in Blue Lodge.

LK600

Premium Member
Agreed. I was advised to wait 6 months, or longer, after being raised to join an appendant body. Get to know what is expected in Blue Lodge before going elsewhere. What you would learn in the Scottish Rite or York Rite (can't speak for others) are extensions to the knowledge you gain in Blue Lodge.

From what I have read / been told, I think in many places waiting 6 months is a pre-requisite.

Brother_Steve

Premium Member
I would look to at least entertain the idea of getting involved in your lodge before you decide on joining SR or YR.