My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

It's been a heck of a few months...

Ed Nelson

Over at the Northern California Lodge where I am a member, I have been stressing and sweating for the last 4-5 months, but a couple of days ago, (most of) the stress has been lifted!

Several months ago, my Lodge Master asked me if I had begun working on my Master Mason proficiency...I had not, understanding it wasn't required (encouraged, but not required unless you wanted to progress thought he line). I had already done my EA and FC proficiencies in short form, which an option in California (the short form is just the obligation), and when I saw the MM was long form, I just put it out of my mind as something to do "later".

Well later came quickly when the Master asked me to progress from the lowly Junior Steward to the Junior Deacon. The Master and my coach encouraged me to begin my MM proficiency so it would be out of the way and done when I eventually work up to the South, where it is required.

I started working on it, and figured it to be about 2500ish words long. Had I done the EA and FC long form, it would have come more naturally, but it was like starting from scratch. Basically what I did was learn it one sentence at a time...a long and tough process. The words don't necessarily roll off the tongue.

Finally (FINALLY) after 4½ months of memorization, meeting with my coach, and many sleepless nights stressing, I presented my proficiency in Lodge during a specially-called meeting just for the presentation. Myself and our Junior Warden (who also did his after being raised 10 years ago) did them at the same time. I won't say my work was flawless, but I did pretty well, only needing prompting twice.