My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Recruiting

David612

Out of curiosity in your jurisdiction what are you doing to boost inquiry by suitable candidates who may not have found freemasonry on their own?
I know many fall back on the 2b1ask1 idea and was just curious about lodges world wide.

David612

Fair enough, as I'm new to the craft i have been told arguments from both sides and while I'm too new to be of value on the subject I just thought it was interesting as there seem to be camps from both sides.

David612

People cannot join Freemasonry unless they've heard of it. I guess that's where our focus is, making sure people hear about us...
Exactly this, Im guessing the cultural perception between every country is so different hence the differences in jurisdictions and GLs to suit the local climate

CLewey44

In the U.S., I think numbers are inflated. I think it's watered down here. Not sure how most of you feel, but I think 250K-500K would be reasonable vs. over a million now or 4-5M in the 50s and 60s. If you make it desirable they will come. If you present crap, they will not. I've mentioned it to friends that I think would be fine masons and they think it's just a bunch of old men hanging out or selling pancakes, presumably they think in old dilapidated, free standing buildings in some cases. I think less advertising and more mystery will spark interest. It makes it special vs. Rotary or Lions club type organization.

Warrior1256

Site Benefactor

CLewey44