Seeking your kind guidance & advise

Discussion in 'Frequently Asked Questions' started by Ash_Jon-Viere, Sep 11, 2018.

1. Ash_Jon-Viere

Ash_Jon-Viere Registered User

Dear all,

I have a question that I’ve been pondering on for awhile now that I’d sincerely like to seek guidance for. I am a student currently, on my way to be a mason, awaiting my first degree.

I’m sincere on spending this life, and every other, on being of complete service to the betterment of mankind and to devote myself to this new purpose I’ve found in this journey of freemasonry.

However I am currently at a crossroads in choosing a path for further education. I would sincerely like to seek your opinion on what would be the best education / career choice where I can be of the most use and service to our mission.

I wish not to make this decision based on what I find interest in, but instead on how I can best dedicate my life to be of greatest use and purpose as a mason.

Sincerely,
    Ash

2. chrmc

chrmc Registered User

Do something you like, something you're good at, and something where there's a need in the future. Likelyhood is that where you'll eventually end, is far from where you thought. I don't think many of us are in the career we had counted on when we started college.

I would not necessarily seek to better the world as as career, though it is a noble cause. Unless of course this is where your passion is. If you become an honest, upright and succesfull man you will have plenty of opportunities to better your community and thereby the world.

Glen Cook likes this.
  3. Matt L

Matt L Site Benefactor

You would achieve your goal, by living your life by Masonic principles. Doesn't matter what your vocation is. Do what makes you happy. One of the best Masons I know is a janitor at a high school. The kids respect him, and know he's a Mason. We've had a few join the lodge because of him.

Thanh Chau, Glen Cook and Warrior1256 like this.
  4. dfreybur

dfreybur Premium Member