My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

what would you do?

Kymason

I am curious for some feedback. This kind thing has never happened to me or any Mason I know personally but as you can imagine I was left speechless. I live in Texas but am from Kentucky. I'd only been here for a short time when my house burned down. Total loss. As I stood in disbelief I watched my wife and children as they watched the firemen going in and out of our burning house. Interestingly my first thought was that since I was so unfamiliar with the area that maybe those nice guys I met at my local lodge could help. I'm a disabled vet and with ptsd I have issues leaving the house so I'd only been to this lodge once. I used to be very active back home before things well changed and I knew I wouldn't be able to be active here, but I wanted to join a lodge in my new home if only to contribute in some small way to the brethren in my new home. So of course standing there I thought BINGO the brothers at this lodge collectively know this area like the back of there hand. So I grabbed my phone and in the wee early morning light began the process of rebuilding and finding a place for my family to go. Now it turned out there website didn't have any numbers so I called the GL and explained. I asked if they could call someone from that lodge and have them call me. They did. This person from my local lodge asked if I was member, etc. So I explained as above in brief and said thought they might be able to help me knowing the area and all. Now get ready.