My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

York Rite Reading?

QPZIL

Premium Member
Hi brother companions,

I finished my York Rite degrees on Saturday, and am now a brother sir knight among you. The Order of the Temple was profoundly beautiful, and probably my favorite thing I've seen in Masonry thus far.

Now that I've been bombarded with 9 new degrees ("Super Excellent Master" is only done once a year in our jurisdiction, so I didn't get to see that), what would you all recommend as far as York Rite reading goes?

So far I'm most interested in the Chapter degrees, as they formed a really nice bookend or epilogue to the Blue Lodge degrees. There doesn't seem to be as much written about the 4th through 7th degrees though. I'm especially interested in old books that I can get off eBay - you know, leather-bound things that'll look nice in my library :)

I guess if I wanted thick philosophical books, I should have joined Scottish Rite :001_tt2:

chrmc

Congrats. Mackey wrote both a "Book of the Chapter" and a "Manual of the Council" which could be a start. I haven't read them though, so can't vouch for how good they are.
Otherwise several of the older texts include the Royal Arch in many of their normal blue lodge texts so that is an option. Pretty sure that Wilmhurst talks about it in one of his books.

If you're just looking for a monitor I'd recommend Sargant's The Royal Arch Companion. Think you can find that in PDF versions online.

Pscyclepath

Premium Member