My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

First Meeting..

Yourboyrong

Hello all,

I recently decided to start my journey of joining the brotherhood, and got in contact with the WM of my local lodge. He invited me to come out and have dinner with them at their next meeting, which I am really excited to do.

However, I am having anxiety, as I am not good with social events where I do not know anyone. Are there any tips y'all can give me so the first impression goes smooth, as far as what I should ask, say, or dress?

Im just worried I may be looked down upon, as I am only 24 and most members, from what I have seen in pictures, are over 35+. Maybe I am just overthinking and this will all go smooth, but I just dont want to make a fool of myself.

Buckeye

You are over thinking it. ;) You may want to check with the WM to see what their dress code it, some lodges are more casual than other.

Just be yourself and relax. Think of questions you have about masonry to ask. It's your first meet and greet, it will be informal and fun.

Mike

jermy Bell

24 you say ? You younger kids ( excuse the pun) are a welcoming sight to the craft. Wish there was more around your age wanting to join. Good luck !

David612

Indeed-
I joined at 28 and was the youngest by at least a decade.
If you do end up in an older lodge should you choose to join and are admitted be mindful as there can be some challenges there.

bro.william

Premium Member